God, I triple dog dare you to flood the pacific northwest

January 11, 2009 at 7:48 pm (Uncategorized)

So… I sat on the tarmac of the Minneapolis-St. Paul Airport for an hour and a half on Wednesday night (1/7).  The plane finally took off, and I arrived in Seattle only to find a major mother&*^%$$&# flood happening between Seattle and Portland.  Unfortunately for me, I needed to drive from Seattle to Portland on 1/8, and all roads (including I5) that could make this dream come true were closed.  My show in Portland on 1/8 was canceled.  Finally the roads opened up on the afternoon of 1/9, and I was able to make it to my live radio spot on KPSU from 5-6PM on 1/9.  You can stream the performance here: http://archive.kpsu.org/station/archives/202.

Last night (1/10), I showed up at Bob’s Java Jive in Tacoma WA to find out that I was playing a show in a building that was shaped like a giant coffee kettle (http://farm1.static.flickr.com/32/99513738_419ad012e7.jpg?v=0).  In an inexplicable marketing maneuver, Bob’s Java Jive (shaped like a coffee kettle) only serves beer… no coffee.  Fortunately, the show was actually a lot of fun.  The highlight of the night was a couple of beefy dudes moshing to a cover of Simon&Garfunkel’s “I Am A Rock” played by the band Hello From Reno… fantastic.

Leave a Reply

