The aftermath – who likes to sweat? (not raising my hand)

July 19, 2008 at 10:35 pm (Uncategorized)

Well, that was a hell of a lot of fun. Thanks to everyone who came out to the show last night. I’m sitting at my computer, sweating my eyeballs out, listening to the the new Headlights record while I type this. 1) Michael Morris and the Community Chorus started off the night with a beautiful and haunting set. As they were wooing those of us standing up next to the stage, a surprising crowd gathered behind the bar and filled up the room. By 10:50, the Kitty Cat Klub was alive with buzzing and friends. 2) The Daredevil Christopher Wright coaxed my head into a pop frenzy somewhere between the very best bubble gum and Jeff Mangum. I thoroughly enjoyed the harmonies, the twists/turns, and the enthusiasm. I was engaged. 3) The boys and I took the stage around 1:00AM, which was a touch later than expected. My friends Brenda and Nathan spent 24 straight hours in the car to make it to the show on time. To see them standing front and center at 1:00AM after no sleep and no breaks was the high point of my night. Chris and Tor played a gorgeous set, and I tried to keep up.  Travis sat cheek to cheek with me for Sailors in the Harbor, and Holly held Chuckles for Kids on the River.  By the time I packed up the car, drove back to St. Paul, unloaded the gear, dropped off Chris, and returned to my house it was 4:30AM. Now, I’m not saying I’m old, but my body is not meant to stay up until 4:30AM anymore… so I guess I must be a little old. I woke up at noon trying to figure out how to get coffee out of my so-called “coffee maker.” I eventually gave up and went to Caribou. I’ve decided that I need to watch Bruce Lee’s “Enter the Dragon.”… That’s the only other decision I’ve made to day… I’m drained… good night.

2 Comments

  1. Ben said,

    It was an awesome show. I love the CD so much I’m going to burn a copy for all my most favorite friends.

  2. Brenda said,

    1.) Enter the Dragon has made me see the world in a whole new light.

    2.) Your music was also the highlight of my night, everyone who lived 26 hours away and didn’t make the drive was missing out.

Leave a Reply

